Team RAFBF Lossiemouth

Proudly supporting The RAFBF

River Ness by Jason Shand

10K Challenge: Trainers, Whippets & Poo Bags at the Ready!

Leave a comment

Bobby Keeling is a valued, hardworking and dedicated member of the Team RAFBF Lossiemouth. Despite every corner of her brain trying to tell her otherwise, Bobby has taken on a personnel challenge to organise a team and raise funds for RAFBF; she tells more in her blog:-

Team RAFBF Lossiemouth Committee with Bobby in middle Team RAFBF Lossiemouth Committee with Bobby in centre

Running has never been my exercise of choice; the ability to make what feels like a stumbling stagger look like an athletic glide escapes me.  I walk my dogs on the beach daily, but you just can’t be seen jogging next to two super sleek whippets in your revealing Lycra, swinging a couple of doggy poo bags can you? Whilst I  have many friends and acquaintances who are adding value to various marathons and triathlons across the country, it’s always been something I have admired in others and resolutely refused to do myself, I consider myself quite simply ‘not the running type’.

Looking gracefulHats on for RAFBF

So why am I writing a post about running? Because I have decided to challenge myself and enter a 10k event whilst raising money for the RAF Benevolent Fund, of course I have others who are going to join me, and I am sure they will glide ahead of me in spectacular fashion.  Despite the fact that I feel like a stumbling, staggering old knacker in earphones, despite the fact that every kerb still looms like a concrete hurdle, and even though I have to dig deep when overtaking mums pushing buggies, I am changing the habit of a lifetime.  I may even be seen trying to keep my whippets in check on the beaches of Lossiemouth, poo bags in hand, Lycra in motion.  I am still not running, but my stumbling stagger is good enough to merit the effort.  I am also lucky to count on the support of some good-humoured friends who are kind enough not to mention how slow I really am.  I intend to update posts of my experiences and even get together with other like-minded stumblers as I improve, I might even become the running type.

Socks & Pickles at full pelt Socks & Pickles proving why they are a trip hazard

Why would I do that?

Because I want your money!

I am raising money for the RAF Benevolent Fund, a fund that offers support for all those serving and retired members of the RAF and their families. They have made a difference to people I know and I am constantly amazed at how much they contribute to the fabric of support that is required behind the scenes of so many sensitive situations.  So if you donate for nothing more than a smile at the thought of me swinging my poo bags up and down West Beach, or tripping over the curb outside the Co-op, I can guarantee it will go to a great cause.

Bobby

** You can sponsor Bobby and her team here: Team RAFBF Lossiemouth: Baxters River Ness 10K Challenge Just Giving Page 

** Header photo courtesy of Jason Shand from Inverness.

Author: teamrafbflossiemouth

Team RAFBF Lossiemouth was set up in November 2012 to raise funds and awareness for RAF Benevolent Fund at RAF Lossiemouth.

Leave a Reply

